A great opportunity for a remarkable printmaker.

Marcus Benavides


Well, it’s official. I’ve started a Kickstarter Project to help fund my Artist Residency in Venice, Italy. More information is available when you click the link above, but here’s a short synopsis below.

I was recently selected for a month long international artist residency at the Venice Printmaking Studio. Located on the isle of Murano in Venice, Italy, this art facility specializes in large-scale fine art printmaking. The type of art I make, just so happens to be large-scale woodcuts!

The way I cut my wood blocks is through highly detailed imagery in a monumental scale. Therefor it is very laborious.  My most recent work is around 8 feet tall 4 feet wide, and takes about two weeks of non-stop carving. Very few facilities in the world have the means to print blocks this size …

The imagery I use is very much influenced by Italian Renaissance painting and…

View original post 137 more words

Leave a Reply

