New Business Cards+Analogue And Proud of It

Last night I attended a networking event hosted by I Heart Art Portland.  I think it went very well.  I met a lot of interesting people and made some connections in the art community.  For the event I decided that new business cards were needed.  I racked my brains for ideas, concepts and styles and nothing seemed to work , until….

I decided to cut up some of my proofs and slightly flawed prints into business cards.  This way, not only does the person have my information, but also has a unique piece of my work as a reminder of what I do. I cut them close to double the height of a normal business card and slightly less in length.

For the backs, I bought mailing labels.  At first the game plan was to design a template and print 50 labels by computer, however, the template took forever to download and I couldn’t figure out how to use it.

Enter in the typewriter.

I’ve had this typewriter for years and years.  I don’t even remember how long, and it still works great, even if I had to tape the lid closed.

I hand typed 50 labels.  Sounds tedious, but oddly… I actually really enjoyed it.  The smell of the ink and the ticking on the hammers was fantastic.  I’m an analogue kind of guy, and sometimes I forget that.

The greatest thing, for me, was that I was listing my email, twitter and blog address by typewriter.  So conceptual.

Here’s the link to the I Heart Art Portland website:

http://iheartartpdx.com/

Have a great day.

Copyright©2012 by Drew Kail

44 thoughts on “New Business Cards+Analogue And Proud of It”

  1. Heeey, I love the Business cards, so original! I was just wondering where you got your typewriter from? I know you got it a long time ago, but I can’t seem to find anywhere that sells them that is either close to me or posts them (though I guess they’re quite hard to post). I know I’m clutching at straws, but it’s better than nothing!
    Love the blog! 🙂

    1. I got it when some of my friends bought a house about fifteen years ago, or so. The people that sold them the house left a basement full of stuff. My friends held a “take what you want” party. I took the typewriter and a couple of weird lamps. The lamps both exploded within a few years. At least the typewriter was a score. I don’t know where you can buy one though.. maybe Craigslist or some other internet based entity. Sorry I’m not more help. Good luck.
      Drew

  2. What an awesome idea! The tedious process really paid off. I have a stack of business cards from people I’ve met during my job-searching process, but only a few of them stand out. I like ones that are odd-shaped, contain a simple logo, or have a unique quote on them. Your idea was so simple, yet really creative!

    1. Thanks, I’m glad you like them. They seemed to go over really well last night, also. the coolest thing, I think, is that you can feel the impression on each card and smell the printmaking ink. I LOVE the smell of printmaking ink.

  3. I love your cards. I did the same with my flawed lithographs, too and on exhibitions, people scramble to get one of them 🙂 (but I don´t have the very true typewriter…I tried a stamp but use the printer by now…)

    Greetings, Ute

    1. Thanks. I’m always looking for new ways to reuse materials, including my own prints, and I haven’t broken out the typewriter in a long time. It was a win-win.

    1. Thanks. The cards seemed to go over very well last night. And I agree that the typewriter is awesome. I especially love the hard shell built on carrying case.

  4. GREAT idea! I am going to steal it! thanks. There is a time for professionally printed business cards, but heck, we’re artists! we’re supposed to be creative, and that was brilliant!

  5. Looks great! The look of the typewriter font actually gives it a modern day feel. I’m actually glad to see some typewriters are still in use. I learned to type off of a 60’s typewriter from Sears Roebucks and pretty much used a word processor to type up my school work until I got my first computer before starting college in 1998.

    Great idea – I’m sure your business cards will be held onto by those who took them.

    1. I was just talking about the lack of computers when I was growing up. I too worked on a typewriter and word process through high school, and didn’t really start using a computer until college in 1995. I remember the first time I used the internet for a research paper on Kerouac, and only 20 things or so showed up from a search. How the times have changed.

      1. LOL – I was telling a co-worker of mine- who is only 6 six years younger than me, about my first time using email. I went to the computer lab at my university and had to have one of the helpdesk students show me what to do. At that time, my college only had Pine email. You had to open the program, and you were greeted with a black screen and white text. I think I had to select my inbox by arrowing up and down on the menu screen. By 2000 – just 2 yrs later, they finally converted to web-based email and it took me awhile to get used to that.

  6. So cool that you actually have an old typewriter that works ! What a great idea to type the labels.What a great hand made feel they must have. Ive done something similar in the past…. put some old (textile design) colorplates throught the printer to add name and number and email and then cut them up for cards. Cheers !

      1. Nothing left of that adventure. And thats what I liked most about it, they were here, and then gone.Not one the same. Can always make more, but havent yet.

    1. Thanks. I got into an inner rhythm due to typing the same information over and over again that became I kind of meditation timed to the smack of the letters. It was pretty great. And I love the smell of the ink.

  7. Great idea you did for your business cards! Each one is unique and displays your art. And I like the typwriter. I understand about templates on the computer. It never fails: Resorting back to the old fashion route always works out better. And it did. The typewriter gave your business cards more character, vintage look.

    1. Thanks. I might try to re-establish an arts and craft movement geared toward low tech manufacturing. Not only does it always work out better, but it looks less template-like. It gives the object personality.

  8. I love it! I have an “olivetti” typewriter I recently found tucked away in a little shop in London, it was such a find! I love the sound it makes, and that “touch” of “buttons” sensation one feels, especially when we’re living in a world more and more prone to “touch screens” – nothing beats the traditional, no matter how much I love technology and its advances, its nice to know we can still hold onto these lovely treasures 🙂

    1. I agree. To me, the low tech nature of the typewriter offers a greater all around experience to the act typing, rather than the illusion of typing that one receives when using a touch screen ipad.

      1. Perfectly said 🙂 I just found new ribbon for my typewriter too, I am excited to put it in and start typing 🙂 I love even the mistakes I make and how I have to use tippex to white them out, leaving the trace of the mistake : leaving evidence of the “hand” 🙂

Leave a Reply

