New Print Collage

“An Incredible Chain of Events is About to Begin”

9 3/4″ x 6 1/2″

As I’ve written about before, Dr. Suess is one of my main artistic influences.  Arguably my favorite story is a toss up between “Yertle the Turtle”, “The Lorax” and “Because A Little Bug Went Ka-Choo!!”  Over the past few months there have been a lot of changes in my life.  Back in October I wrote a blog post about not being able to sell my house, which prevented my wife and I moving back to our hometown of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania where we were planning to start two nonprofit arts education organizations.  Since then, we’ve had to deal with finding jobs again, restructuring our bills to suit our incomes, and essentially re-planning our current futures, all because of the very awful realization regarding the housing market in Portland.  So far it’s been a lot of work, but everything has been going great. We’re excited about our current directions while still holding onto future possibilities.  So, what about this collage?  Well, I feel that this piece perfectly depicts the past few months of my life.  It’s intimidating, dynamic, and slightly puzzling for the man with the umbrella set to ascend the stairs leading to three unknown destinations.  I think the collage says that no matter how well planned something is, or logical a choice has been made, it can immediately change course all because a little bug went ka-choo.

Copyright © 2012 by Drew Kail

Leave a Reply

