Belize + Artichoke Gallery Show on Sept. 2nd

A rainy morning in Belize offers me my first chance to write a blog post.

The Island of San Pedro is an amazing place for creative inspiration.  The shallow waters that separate the island shore from its coral reef belt, are riddled with rich patterns and a vibrant color scheme that blends the Caribbean with what I’ll call rusted mineralism.  Looking down during the plane ride from mainland Belize to the Island of San Pedro remind me of what great possibilities are held in the layered colors and texture of my monoprints.

I look forward to processing this experience to a further extent when I get back to Portland in a few days, but for now I’d rather just observe and absorb.  I believe these two actions to be some of the most important for an artist to perform in order to evolve in their work.

I’m going to sign off, because the rain has stopped, and we need to hop in the golf cart and go into town soon.

Before I go, I would like to mention my print show at the Artichoke Gallery in SE Portland this Friday, Sept. 2nd.  If you’re in the neighborhood, stop by and say hello.  Here is the link to the gallery website for more information.

http://artichokepdx.com/

I hope to see you there.

Copyright © 2011 by Drew Kail

Leave a Reply

