Overlay

1/1                           Overlay                           2010

Plate: 30″ x 15 1/2″, Paper: 36″ x 21 1/4″

In this Print I wanted to create an ethereal and sculptural space.  A common theme in my work is depth.  I attempt to push the image back as far as I can to create the illusion of the paper being a window to look into.  With this print I began to work on also bringing the foreground out from the paper.  The large white element began as a middle ground covered by more saturated shapes on the right hand side, and ended the piece as the final component overlapping everything in pure white on the left hand side.  The intent was to produce an effect of the white shape breaking out of the atmospheric scene.  Again, this is a layered print using both monotype and relief techniques .

This is the final print that I submitted to the IPCNY, and I was rejected.  At first I was bummed until I realized I lost out to the likes of Richard Serra, Kerry James Marshall and John Baldessari.  That’s pretty good.

To view more monoprints please click here:

https://drewkail.wordpress.com/monoprints-2010/

https://drewkail.wordpress.com/monoprints-2011/

Copyright © 2011 by Drew Kail

Leave a Reply

