Open Space

1/1      “Open Space”    2010

Plate: 15 3/4″ x 30″, Paper: 20″ x 33 1/2″

As with most of my work, I began this print with no intended image or concept.  With this series I use layers in a dialogue of successes and revisions to sub par decisions until I reach a point where the image simply cannot be anything but what it becomes.  This conversation involves mixing processes(in this case monotype and relief printmaking), media, and a constant rotation of the paper from horizontal, vertical upside down, etc..  This print took almost three months to complete, but I’m very happy with it.

I would like to eventually take photographs documenting each stage of the process, but a combination of how quickly I react to the last layer(there is a momentum to a successful day in the shop), and how disgusted I can become if something does not go well have so far prevented this from occurring. When I think something I did sucks, I don’t want to go grab the camera, set the lighting, and take a photo…I want to fix what sucks.  Regardless, I do plan on implementing this excercise, because sometimes I even forget what has been covered or manipulated beyond recognition.  Also, I feel this is a great way to better understand the creative process.

I have recently realized upon looking back on some stuff I’ve done that most of my work ends up as some sort of alternative landscape of post industrialism. This makes sense due to the fact that I grew up in Pittsburgh around the time the steel industry suffered and love the rusty landscape as well as the people it adversely effected.  It is funny this premonition took so long for me to stumble across, because I love my hometown and talk about it all the time.  A subconcious theme based on sense of place and identity?  I would probably have to say yes, “Open Space” definitely fits this theme, but also holds some kind of larger violence, confrontation or even recreation about which I have not yet figured out.  Luckily I find reading into images, especially my own, fascinating.

Copyright © 2011 by Drew Kail

Leave a Reply

